Well, it’s happening again

I have a new vehicle and now I’m noticing all the CR-V’s there are on the road.  My goodness, everyone in Grand Junction has gone out bought one too.  Hmmm.  How odd.

Oh ya.  It’s the “new car phenomenon.  The number of CR-V’s hasn’t changed but my awareness of them changed.

What we notice tells us how we’re different.  Our differences are our strong points.

What do you notice?  I notice how people grow and succeed and make their lives fulfilling.  I use all that I’ve learned and am still learning about people to help you become successful and fulfilled.

Do you want to become more self-aware?

  1. Use a self-assessment.  That’s what they’re for, to learn your preferences.  The Myers-Briggs is the premier self-awareness instrument.  My client’s line, “It’s so me it’s almost scary”, is my favorite way to describe it.  Call me.
  2. Do your own self-assessment.  Whenever you see your car on the road think of one of your strengths and be your own coach.  Ask yourself How am I using this strength now?  What are other ways I could use it?  What’s one thing I can do to build on it?  Your cue words are:  Now, NewBuild.
  3. Have fun with Pinterest.  Pinterest is a giant tack board.  “An online bulletin board for you to organize and share things you love” is how they describe it.  Okay, it’s not for everyone, but it is cool. Find “pins” that describe you and pin them to a bulletin board. Before long you’ll know a lot about yourself from what you pick.

Notice your differences.  Value your differences.  Be grateful for your differences.

Now DO SOMETHING with what you know about yourself.

Sorry about the caps, but I’m “all caps” about this:  Don’t be held back by No messages in your head.  I can’t do it.  I’m not really that good.  I’m afraid to pursue it, I might get put down. Ignore them. Stifle them. Redirect them. Don’t think so much!

You only have one life. Don’t get stuck in procrastination, stuck in fear. Really, truly, you have nothing to fear, nothing to lose.  No, you won’t please everyone.  You will get rejected. You did put on your imaginary super hero suit under your clothes this morning didn’t you?  It will deflect those slings and barbs of the nay-sayers.  Add a get-it-done mindset and you’re ready to go for it.  I’m noticing.

You have brains in your head.  You have feet in your shoes.  You can steer yourself any direction you choose. — Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

